Explore Ras Al Khaimah

Sixth-largest city

Ras Al Khaimah (RAK) (Arabic: رَأْس ٱلْخَيْمَة‎, historically Julfar) is the largest city and capital of the Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates. It is the sixth-largest city in UAE after Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, Al Ain and Ajman.

One of the oldest settlements

Ras Al Khaimah City was once known in history as Julfar and is said to have been one of the oldest settlements in the UAE. The city is home to many archaeological sites located in the outer skirts, the city was also the locale of two British led campaigns in the Persian Gulf in 1809 and 1819

6th most populous city

The population of the city is around 115,949 and it is the largest city in the Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah. It is the 6th most populous city in the UAE

Top of the tent

Its name in English means “top of the tent”. The emirate borders Oman’s exclave of Musandam, and occupies part of the same peninsula. It covers an area of 2,486 km2 (960 sq mi) and has 64 km (40 mi) of beach coastline

Joining United Arab Emirates

On 10 February 1972, Ras Al Khaimah, under the leadership of Sheikh Saqr bin Mohammad al-Qasimi, joined the United Arab Emirates after the Iranian seizure of Abu Musa and the Greater and Lesser Tunbs.

Main areas of Ras Al Khaimah

RAK city has two main areas – the Old Town and Nakheel – on either side of a creek that is home to mangroves and is framed by the North-Western Hajar Mountains. The emirate also consists of several villages and new gated residential developments, such as Al Hamra Village and Mina Al Arab. The emirate is served by Ras Al Khaimah International Airport. Its geography consists of a northern part (where Ras Al Khaimah City and most towns are situated) and a large southerly inland exclave (near the Dubai exclave of Hatta), and a few small islands in the Persian Gulf.

Most Fertile

Ras Al Khaimah has the most fertile soil in the country, due to a larger share of rainfall and underground water streams from the Hajar.


Suburbs of Ras Al Khaimah
  1. Al Dhait
  2. Al Mamourah
  3. Al Nakheel
  4. Al Qurm
  5. Al Qusaidat
List of Rulers
  • 1708–1731: Sheikh Rahma Al Qasimi
  • 1731–1747: Sheikh Matar bin Butti Al Qasimi
  • 1747–1777: Sheikh Rashid bin Matar Al Qasimi[30]
  • 1777–1803: Sheikh Saqr bin Rashid Al Qasimi
  • 1803–1809: Sheikh Sultan Bin Saqr Al Qasimi (1st time)[31]
  • 1809–1814: Sheikh Hasan bin Ali Al Anezi
  • 1814–1820: Sheikh Hassan bin Rahma Al Qasimi. In 1820 removed as ruler of RAK by British, recognised as Sheikh of Khatt and Falna. Signed General Maritime Treaty of 1820.
  • 1820–1866: Sheikh Sultan Bin Saqr Al Qasimi (2nd time). In 1820 shifted capital to Sharjah.
  • 1866 – 1868: Sheikh Khalid bin Sultan Al Qasimi (died 1868). Ruler of RAK.
  • 14 April 1868 – 1869: Sheikh Salim bin Sultan Al Qasimi (18??–1919). Ruler of Sharjah and RAK.
  • 1869 – August 1900: Sheikh Humaid bin Abdullah Al Qasimi (died 1900). Ruler of RAK.
  • 1900 – 1914: Sheikh Saqr bin Khalid Al Qasimi
  • 1914 –1921: Sheikh Khalid bin Ahmad Al Qasimi
  • 10 July 1921 – Feb 1948: Sheikh Sultan bin Salim Al Qasimi
  • 17 July 1948 – 27 October 2010: Sheikh Saqr bin Mohammed Al Qasimi (1918–2010)
  • 27 October 2010 – current: Sheikh Saud bin Saqr Al Qasimi[32]
  • The appointed heir presumptive is currently Mohammed bin Saud Al Qasimi, son of the current Ruler of the Emirate.
To Top